Griff’s Game of the Week: Red Dead Redemption – Undead Nightmare

(For those wondering, this won’t be a regular column, just a little something to mix it up this week)

Red Dead Redemption is probably my favorite game of all time. Between it’s incredible story,  to the world itself, everything reeked of professionalism and really made it an enjoyable experience. Naturally, when the downloadable content was announced, I was excited. But especially excited for the last one on the DLC list, “Undead Nightmare.”

Looks like my ex-wife

 

I have a little obsession with zombies. Looking directly to my right I see a copy of “Behind the Scenes of Night of the Living Dead,” the abused case of “The Evil Dead 2” and a poster of Zombi 2 on my wall (which is so pleasant to look at while trying to get to sleep). So yeah, a little obsession.

I wish I was kidding.

When I heard of the “Undead Nightmare” DLC I was more than a little excited. Of course it could never live up to my imagination of what it would be like, but it was be neat.

The release date was scheduled to be October 26th, which for you geniuses out there, is today.

I’d like to be the first to tell you that Red Dead Redemption – Undead Nightmare did not meet my expectations. It exceeded them beyond my wildest dreams.

I’ve been playing for about three hours as of writing this, and I’m hooked. So much to do! Where should I begin?

The first thing you’ll notice is that these zombies don’t go down easy. It takes a headshot to kill them which, unless you suck and have auto-aim on easy, is not a terribly easy feat, especially since there are 20 of them running towards you at once. Ammo is also extremely scarce, so there’s a tenseness to the game that never lets up, a feeling of dread only offset by going “Holy shit, that is so cool” every 5 minutes.

There are also new stranger missions added onto the main storyline, optional side quests which add a lot to the game. You thought zombies were bad? There’s many more weird creatures to discover in this game!

Too much cool to possibly be in one image

For any of you who felt guilty after single handedly perpetrating animal holocausts in New Austin in the beginning of the game, prepare to feel even worse as you are shown the consequences of Sasquatch genocide by your own hand. That’s right, I said it: The goddamn Sasquatch.

There are also the four horses of the apocalypse, mythical undead horses with special powers you can exploit. If you can find and tame these beasts, prepare to dominate the undead. “But Griffin,” you say “how can a super attractive sex god such as yourself find one of these creatures?” The simple answer? You get lucky.

But don’t worry, there are other creatures in the game. You can tame wild horses! Oh, yeah, wild undead horses. And those pesky bears? Yeah, they’re undead too. Holy shit could this game get any cooler?

Undead Nightmare is some of the most fun I’ve had with a game in recent memory, so I’d highly suggest picking it up ASAP.

Be quick, or be undead!

Leave a Reply

