Griff’s Film of the Week: O’ Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000)

For many film fanatics out there, watching a film is as simple as going to the pantry for some two cent’ instant ramen or deciding how to kill all their neighbors and coworkers after they’ve turned into zombies. It’s a common thing is what I’m saying.

Not for me however, for me watching a film is an event. I gotta make a commitment, there aren’t many films I can just sit down and watch nilly-willy. These films are films that I truly love, films that have had an effect on me not only as a filmmaker but as a film viewer.

O’ Brother, Where Art Thou? is one of those films.

 

O' Brother Where Art Thou

 

Released in 2000, the Coen Brother’s loose adaption of the Odyssey is one of my favorite films of all time, a controversial choice no doubt.

There are so many reasons I love this film, let me count the ways. Although somebody will probably burn my house down for this, this film is by far my favorite George Clooney film.

His over exaggerated, bumbling motions and incredibly odd vocabulary and speech style makes this usually suave ladies man into a comedic figure of unparalleled proportions.

This film’s odd sense of humor and quirky approach to the depression era South is in stark contrast to Michael Mann’s “Public Enemies” which takes place at the same time, with a certain “public enemy” even making a cameo in O’ Brother.

Also it features one of the catchiest bluegrass tunes I’ve ever heard, and trust me, I hate bluegrass.

Although it may not be one of their most relished or popular films, it certainly ranks among my favorites and my only memories of it are fond ones.

Leave a Reply

